Material Project 3: Today, Tomorrow, Yesterday, September

Today, Tomorrow, Yesterday, September is my third material project. I will looking at making a journal, artists book using silk screen print, cyanotype and spray paint. The idea behind this project is to gather anything which shows where I have been, what we have been doing, where I come from. I have decided to base my project on plants and flowers. I like this idea as it could also tie in with my Outside Inside project, taking plants from outside and bringing them inside to create artwork.

Dieter Roth

The first artist I looked at was Dieter Roth. He is best known for his books, sculptures and installations. Below is an example of an artists’ book by Dieter Roth.

Little Tentative Recipe is one of Dieter Roth’s artist books. It was created in 1968 and measures in at 11.3 x 10.3 x 10.3 cm. It is an edition of 100 signed, dated and numbered copies and is made from approximately 800 multicoloured Rotaprint-prints. The book is stored in a wooden case, stamped with the name of the artist and the name of the book. Roth released this statement about the book, “Little tentative recipe: PRINT until you cant stand it anymore or [until] you dont want anymore, take away, for binding for instance, the sheets which the machine cannot take anymore (torn, wrinkled, or beautiful according to someone’s taste), dont throw anything away”. Roth’s way of displaying the book is interesting and inspiring to my own work. The wooden box is one of many ways I could present my work at the end of this project.

Noelle Griffiths

Another artist I looked at was Noelle Griffiths. She is inspired by the place she lives and travelling. Here is an example of Griffiths’ artist book.screen-shot-2016-11-29-at-11-34-43

It is called Book of Balance volumes I & II and was made in 2007. The book is made from pen and ink lettering, watercolour paintings and words on BFK Rives paper, it measures 22.5 x 16.5 cm when it is closed and has 24 pages. I really like this book as it has hand drawn images of leaves with words, something I want to create in my final outcome of this project.

This is another artists’ book by Griffiths’. screen-shot-2016-11-29-at-11-36-17

Again, it features hand drawn flowers, leaves and plants with hand written text explaining what the drawing is. It is called Box Books and was created in 2001. The materials used are acrylic, pen and ink on 300gsm saunders watercolour paper. The book measures 14.5 x 14cm each when closed.

I think Noelle Griffiths’ work is really inspiring to my project and it has definitely given me ideas of what I want to make my artists book.

Author: emiliasfineartblog

BA (Hons) Fine Art Student studying at Cardiff Metropolitan University

Leave a Reply

