Material Project 3 Final Outcome

Final Outcome

I wanted to create an artists book as a final outcome. I have used the prints, cyanotypes and spray painted pages to put together a very un-uniform book. I like the thought of the book being something to always go back to and update. I have used plants from at home and around the university grounds to create the screen prints, cyanotypes and spray paint pages. The plants on the cover are from a bush in my garden. The idea behind this is that I use plants from two important places in my life. As the plants are going to die, I can update it with plants from anywhere I go, such as on holiday, on a day trip, down my Nan’s. It was inspired by the artist, Noelle Griffiths, who I looked at in my previous blog post. She prints images of plants from where she lives in North Wales but also from different destinations in the world.  I called the book, Flower Chain. I called it flower chain because of the links between uni life and my home, two places where I spend most of my time.

This is the how the artists book looks.

screen-shot-2016-12-27-at-21-37-39

I like how the pages are all different sizes. As you can see, the plants are already dying. I think the plants on the front are quite intriguing as its unusual to have an actual plant on a book.

Author: emiliasfineartblog

BA (Hons) Fine Art Student studying at Cardiff Metropolitan University

Leave a Reply

