Outside Inside Thoughts

I was previously going to look at the brain and how we store feelings and thoughts inside. I felt that I did not have enough information or experience with mental health issues to talk about and was not connecting much with the idea of showing my brain and thoughts. While researching the brain and how we store thoughts etc, I went to the Huggard Centre in Cardiff to donate food. Whilst there, I was taken by the amount of homeless people who relied on the centre for basic things like breakfast that has made me want to explore Homelessness in Cardiff. I want to show how a homeless person does not have an inside, their outside is their inside.

Mental illness issues is a huge problem on the streets, the misuse of drugs, such as heroin and a new street drug called Spice, also leads to mental illness. I think this project can link to the brain and how I was going to look at thoughts/ feelings. I am also going to explore how homeless people live outside.

I am going to focus on homelessness in Cardiff and am using the BBC documentary, ‘Cardiff: Living On The Streets’ as a source of information.

Author: emiliasfineartblog

BA (Hons) Fine Art Student studying at Cardiff Metropolitan University

Leave a Reply

