Short Writing Course (2/ 4)

Today for the short writing course, we had to meet at Cardiff Museum to describe two pieces of work in the gallery. We had to spend half an hour on each.

I chose to write about Francis Bacon’s, Henrietta Moraes, 1966. My first initial thoughts about this piece of work was that it is quite abstract. The life model is painted quite differently to life drawings by artists such as Lucien Freud. To me, the colours and shapes Bacon has painted of Moraes looks like a piece of bacon. The bed is really distorted too, with bright colours.

Screen Shot 2017-05-15 at 09.42.23
Francis Bacon, Henrietta Moraes, 1966

I found it hard to describe for 30 minutes, I found after 15 minutes I could not write much more but carried on trying to scramble anything to describe the painting.

The second painting I chose to write about was René Magritte, The Empty Mask, 1928. Screen Shot 2017-05-15 at 09.42.02

I chose this painting as there is a lot to describe. I found it much easier to describe this painting than the first. It’s like it is telling a story, each segment of the gold frame might relate to each other, the message isn’t clear and it is very surrealist.

I didn’t mind this task and found being in the museum inspiring and thought provoking. The describing got much easier and I found being able to write down the description got less complicated over the hour.

In the afternoon, the task was to describe an object or a landscape but it could not be an artwork or an image. I decided to describe my shoes. I found this task much easier than describing the artwork as I think it was much more literal. The object is mine so I see my shoes basically everyday, I could describe the shoes in a much more simple way and put the words down on the paper a lot quicker than when describing the artwork. 18493172_10203352532289644_1704890030_o

Are you interested in this object in the same way as you were interested in the artwork this morning? No. I wasn’t more interested in my shoes than the artwork, which is why I found it interesting that I found describing the object a lot more straightforward than the artworks.

Author: emiliasfineartblog

BA (Hons) Fine Art Student studying at Cardiff Metropolitan University

Leave a Reply

