A New Skill Learnt

Throughout my first year at Cardiff Metropolitan, I have participated in many different classes and workshops. The new skill I have learnt is silk screen printing. I have never had the chance to create silk screen prints and really enjoy how quickly you can print.

I was first introduced to screen print in the material project, Today, Tomorrow, Yesterday, September. In this project, I had to create a diary type of outcome. I looked at plants and flowers from where I lived, at uni and places I visited and kept a rough diary of what they looked like.

Here are a few example from this material project.

img_0919

I also used screen printing in the field project, Colour is Light. This project explored light and colour theory and sculpture using the prints.

 

I think I will definitely use silk screen printing in my work in year 2 as I really appreciated being able to use the print room and create works like the ones shown in this post.

Author: emiliasfineartblog

BA (Hons) Fine Art Student studying at Cardiff Metropolitan University

One thought on “A New Skill Learnt”

Leave a Reply

