Material Project Summative Assessment

At the beginning of the year, I participated in the material project, You and Me. In this project, I created portraits of myself that best showed me. I learnt that not every portrait has to show a face and that you an object could represent you better than what a photograph would.

photography
Brown Coat

 

I photographed my coat. This is my favourite item of clothing and I feel it best shows me. The creases represent that the coat has been lived in. My jumper that I wear on a typical cold day is underneath as I have worn this outfit endlessly.

I was inspired by this and decided to use the same idea of a portrait using objects to convey the message in my final piece. The paintings of the unwanted household furniture represent how a typical homeless person feels. They don’t show a facial portrait but the meaning behind the paintings is portraying the same. I used cardboard to paint the furniture on as cardboard represents the homeless as they sleep on it, sit on it, eat on it, etc, it’s like their home.

 

Author: emiliasfineartblog

BA (Hons) Fine Art Student studying at Cardiff Metropolitan University

One thought on “Material Project Summative Assessment”

Leave a Reply

