Colour is Light- Field

The field project that influenced my field final piece was Colour is Light. In this project, I was taught about colour theories and how to create a paper sculpture using silk screen prints. I love printing and how quickly I can create artwork using the technique.

.

17548878_10203129341270008_1244882737_o
My final piece

This was my first final piece. I think the prints look good on the metal grid and the bits of paper weaved around the grid makes my own stamp on the work. However, I do think it looks very similar to Frank Stella’s, Shoubeegi.

I decided to create the work again using African fabric from an artist I know in Uganda. I imitate the swirls, bright colour and controlled messiness in Shoubeegi but have put my own touch by using material instead of paper and plaiting, twisting and tying the fabric on the grid. The printed part of this workshop has carried on in this piece as I have used printed fabric from Africa. 18927344_10203438344234889_208022325_o

Author: emiliasfineartblog

BA (Hons) Fine Art Student studying at Cardiff Metropolitan University

1 thought on “Colour is Light- Field”

Leave a Reply

