Frank Stella- Field

Frank Stella is an abstract painter. I am interested in his work which has inspired me to create a paper sculpture using screen prints for my individual piece for field.

The piece I am looking at is Shoubeegi (1978). It is part of the ‘Indian Bird’ series which Stella began when he stayed in Ahmedabad, he named the pieces of work after the birds found on the subcontinent.

The medium used in this piece of work are enamel, metal and glitter. Screen Shot 2017-03-18 at 20.23.49

I like the bright colours and curvy shapes and the way the work spills into the viewers space and grabs attention. The messiness of the work is what attracted me to the piece as it is cluttered yet controlled which I find interesting, it also reminds me of my own work as I work in a rather messy way.

Shoubeegi allows light to pass through and create shadows with the different shapes on top of the grid. This influenced my final piece because light is the subject for Field.

Author: emiliasfineartblog

BA (Hons) Fine Art Student studying at Cardiff Metropolitan University

1 thought on “Frank Stella- Field”

Leave a Reply

