Inspiring Artist

The artist I have chosen that has inspired my work is Frida Kahlo. Frida Kahlo was a Mexican painter best known for her self portraits. She began painting after being involved in an accident. The artworks I am inspired by the most are ‘Broken Column’, 1944 and ‘The Two Fridas’, 1939.

screen-shot-2016-11-14-at-22-20-53
The Two Fridas, 1939
screen-shot-2016-11-14-at-21-56-28
The Broken Column, 1944

These paintings look inside Frida’s body. At the very beginning of the year, I was going to base the Outside Inside project on the body. Looking at how we look from the outside and what we look like inside. Frida Kahlo’s paintings shown above inspired me to think of this idea.

I then went on to looking at the brain and how we store our thoughts and feelings/ what we look like from the outside. I decided this project was not going in the direction I wanted. Now, I am looking at a completely different outcome for the final pieces for subject, however, still developing and researching mental thoughts/ illness in the homeless scene. Even though the project has changed, Frida Kahlo inspired me from the start.

Author: emiliasfineartblog

BA (Hons) Fine Art Student studying at Cardiff Metropolitan University

1 thought on “Inspiring Artist”

Leave a Reply

