John Akomfrah- Gallery Artist

Screen Shot 2017-05-27 at 10.18.59I visited the Artes Mundi 7 exhibition a few times in Cardiff Museum and found each of the artworks interesting. John Akomfrah’s work was really intriguing, as I watched the video he created about migration I felt on edge, like something was about to make me jump. Akomfrah explores migration from 8 mass migrations which has happened during the past 400 years. The piece of work is in the form of a video displayed on 2 big screens. The video was quite confusing at first as I didn’t know what it was trying to expose to the viewer. Once I understood the video was about migration, I felt like I understood refugees in a whole different way.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I really like how Akomfrah captures social problems like migration in such a captivating way. I take great inspiration from this as I especially like to show problems that are present today in this world. This was a useful artist to find as I am trying to highlight the social problems of homelessness in a way that makes the viewer think about the homeless in a different, more sensitive way.

 

 

Author: emiliasfineartblog

BA (Hons) Fine Art Student studying at Cardiff Metropolitan University

1 thought on “John Akomfrah- Gallery Artist”

Leave a Reply

