Final Piece 1- Outside Inside

My first final piece was inspired by Ed Ruscha and his series Metro Mattresses, 2015.

I decided to paint on cardboard as lots of the homeless use it to sleep on. After I spoke to the homeless woman in Cardiff, I came away with more knowledge of how she felt, unwanted was one of the words that she mentioned a few times.

I decided to look at unwanted, abandoned furniture to show symbolise the homeless. I wanted to specifically look at household furniture because it fits more with being ‘unwanted’ in the home with family. The furniture I found was on days of snow, sun and rain. I think this emphasises the typical days of weather a homeless person has to endure. I especially wanted household furniture to further imply that they don’t have a home or family.

img_0716-1.jpg

I have 4 larger paintings, with larger furniture painted on the the larger pieces of cardboard and 3 smaller paintings of smaller furniture painted on smaller pieces of cardboard.

Author: emiliasfineartblog

BA (Hons) Fine Art Student studying at Cardiff Metropolitan University

Leave a Reply

